inspiration

ANTI WAR POST throwback to the 60s and 70s

Here’s a collage poem I wrote using only song lyrics from 60’s and 70’s anti-war protest rock. I can’t, for the life of me, figure out how to get my indents to translate on here, so this isn’t how it actually looks. But you get the idea.

Modern Revolution

Stop, now, what’s that sound

Right now
young people speaking their minds
Right now
there’s battle lines being drawn
I think it’s time we stop

Come on now, we’re marching to the sea
If you hear the song I sing,
what it is ain’t exactly clear
it ain’t me

There’s something happening over there—
got a revolution
got to revolution
turn, turn, turn

You hold the key to love and fear
it ain’t me
it ain’t me

It starts when you’re always afraid
Look what’s happening out in the streets
A time of war, a time of peace
Who will take it from you
it ain’t me

Everybody look what’s going down
they point the cannon at you
Right now
paranoia strikes deep
Nobody’s right if everyone’s wrong
they only answer more! more! more!

From: “Turn! Turn! Turn!” by The Byrds, “Fortunate Son” by CCR, “Volunteers” by Jefferson Airplane, “Get Together” by The Youngbloods and “For What it’s Worth” by Buffalo Springfield

My creative process:

20121108-145805.jpg

 

And in light of awesome things happening in Washington state:

 

 

4 thoughts on “ANTI WAR POST throwback to the 60s and 70s

  1. A great collage of meaning and ideas well put together..

    Wanted to share this quote which I think sums things up nicely and I agree with, though struggle a bit with the whole torn to shreds bit!

    ‘He who joyfully marches to music in rank and file has already earned my contempt. He has been given a large brain by mistake, since for him the spinal cord would fully suffice. This disgrace to civilization should be done away with at once. Heroism at command, senseless brutality, deplorable love-of-country stance, how violently I hate all this, how despicable and ignoble war is; I would rather be torn to shreds than be a part of so base an action! It is my conviction that killing under the cloak of war is nothing but an act of murder.’

    Einstein, Albert

    Keep up the good writing, always a pleasure to hear…

What do you think?

