OPINION

religion

So I’m going to come right out and say it. Religion confuses me. I’m constantly struggling to put my finger on exactly what I believe, and I envy those who are strong and unwavering in their faith. Perhaps that is what I’m missing in my life, something to really believe in.

Raised as a Lutheran, I believe in the moral values of Christianity, but I know so many hypocritical Christians. Especially when reading some of the threads online about that poor girl (Amanda Todd) who committed suicide. They are saying thing like she was unpure and asked for what she got by being promiscuous, and also that she didn’t go to heaven because she killed herself. Then one comment, and perhaps this is a common quote that I was previously unaware of, popped up.

It said, “Don’t judge those who sin differently than you.”

If one comment sums up how I feel about Christians, that is it. I really want to go to church and I want to believe in God, but some of the things that Christians do just disgusts me. Who are we to judge who goes to heaven or not? We were not given the divine knowledge and to judge the actions of others is counterproductive. I just want people to love and be loved, and serve the world. To be able to help the needy, and not worry about the choices (if it was even up to them) they made to get there. I want to be recognized as a part of a religion around the world that is known as a peaceful religion, not a vengeful one. Most of all, I want a religion that is accepting. Accepting of all people regardless of moral background, sexual orientation, etc. That is the religion I want.

Can anyone help steer me in the right direction? I’m having a religious crisis here.

 

6 thoughts on “religion

  1. Yes, to love and be loved. That was essentially the message of Jesus. Unfortunately, that message got buried under all the sermons about damnation and going to hell. Religion lost its way when it started preaching fear instead of love. The trick for someone like you is to figure out how to best express yourself as a child of God without someone telling you how to define God. It’s not an easy task but certainly doable with someone like yourself who has such a big heart. Of course, that would require that you ignore all of the religious zealots out there. As Jesus said, “The Kingdom of God is within”, which is why you won’t find him in any church.

  2. Hi! Thanks for blogging.

    I relate to what you’re saying, because when I became a Christian I really didn’t want to put on the baggage. I didn’t like the gay-bashing, hypocrisy or arrogance. I would say though that at that time I didn’t know many Christians, and I didn’t know the Bible very well at all.

    I guess I’d distinguish between real Christians and those who use the name. Real Christians try to follow the teachings of Jesus and trust in Him and serve Him. The teachings can be really hard and I find I only make progress (nowhere near perfection though) when I’m open to loving Jesus and receiving His love – not when I’m making my own efforts. But in a much more loving place than I was before. I guess that’s my defence of some Christians’ behaviour – you don’t know what they’d be like if they weren’t! And also – Jesus warned us that there would be false believers among us and to ‘know them by their fruits’. Having said that I’m trying to not judge who is right and who isn’t, but I just accept that sometimes things said to be done in the name of Christ are not really done in His name, in the person’s heart.

    There’s a lot of prejudice against Christians though too – and in finding my faith I had to reduce my concern about what others thought of me. There are so many inspiring stories of amazing people who through their Christian faith did amazing things. When I’d read about a few of these people, it showed me that it can help me to love and care more than I ever would without the faith. Perhaps you could google them and let me know what you think? Corrie ten Boom, Jackie Pullinger, Mother Maria (in Paris during the war), Martin Luther King, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Josephine Butler, William Wilberforce… there are loads more who aren’t famous. There’s two beautiful couples in my church who foster kids, I know loads of people who quietly get on with helping addicts, the suffering, raising funds for charity… but don’t shout about it.

    These people don’t look at the church and the Christians, who sometimes screw up. They look to Jesus, and He is good. I’d love to hear your reponse 🙂

  3. WE ARE ESPECIALLY PAYING ATTENTION TO YOUR BLOG MISSY YOUR POST ARE INFORMATIVE THE STUFF THAT MAKES YOU GO ,,,, HHHMMMMM (: RELIGION HAS BECOME ONE HUGE BUSINESS, SO WHEN I GO TO CHURCH I GO FOR THE PEP TALK , THE SPIRITUALALITY. MOST OF THE PEOPLE IN CHURCH ARE CRAZY,,,LOL THATS WHY THE CHURCH IS A HOSPITAL. I DONT JUDGE THEM FOR THERE SHORT COMINGS BECAUSE WE ALL HAVE THEM AND JUST LIKE WE ARE SEARCHING SO ARE THEY. I TAKE WHAT I NEED AND I LEAVE THE REST BUT I USUALLY END UP TAKEING IT ALL. IT IS SOSOOS REFRESHING TO KNOW PEOPLE HAVE SOME OF THE SAM ISSUES I HAVE NO ONE IS PERFECT BUT JESUS HIMSELF, IF THATS WHAT YOU BELIEVE. IT TOOK ME A WHILE TO FIND A CHURCH HOME, I AM 37 SO MY EYES HAVE SEEN ENOUGH, MY HEART HAS LOVE TO MANY USUALLY THE WRONG ONE AND MY BODY AINT GETTING ANY YOUNGER. I WAS DESPRATE TO FIND A POWER GREATER THAN I THOUGHT I WAS AND I HAVE AND IT FEELS GREAT! THE PEP TALK I GET EVERY SUNDAY HOLDS ME AT LEAST TILL FRIDAY THEN I CANT WAIT TILL SUNDAY AGAIN AND I AM NO HOLY KIND OF PERSON OR JUMP UP AND DOWN CLAIMING TO HAVE THE HOLY GHOST, I JUST SIT LISTEN AND SING (: AM I PERFECT HEEELLLLL NO! WE STRIVE FOR PROGRESS NEVER PERFECTION, WE BEND BUT NEVER DO WE BREAK AND THE REASON I DONT BREAK IS BECAUSE I HAVE FOUND SOMETHING THAT WORKS FOR ME. I ENCOURAGE YOU TO FIND SOMETHING THAT WORKS FOR YOU ALSO LITTLE ONE BECAUSE LIFE WILL PULL, PUSH AND TEST YOU AND YOU NEED TO PREPARE YOURSELF,,,,WHEW YOUR POST ARE ALWAYS SO CONTROVERSIAL, WOW, RELIGION, WHAT A GREAT DEBATE, SO THANKS FOR STIMULATEING MY MIND. THANKS FOR NOMINATEING ME ALSO I AM ONLY ON HERE ABOUT ONCE A WEEK BECAUSE MY LIFE IS SO BUSY, I WORK AT LEAST 60 HOURS A WEEK, I AM A FULL TIME STUDENT AND I HAVE A BIPOLAR CAT,,,LOL SO WHEN I DO JUMP ON WORDPRESS YOU ARE ONE OF THE BLOGS I READ. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK LITTLE ONE YOU ARE DOING A GREAT JOB THIS IS A GREAT OUTLET.

What do you think?

